Togbe Afede fails re-election bid

Reading Time: < 1 minute

The Agbogbomefia of the Asogli State, Togbe Afede XIV has failed to retain his seat as the President of the National House of Chiefs. In all, seven members of the house were prevented from voting due to a court injunction. 

Ogyeahohuo Yaw Gyebi, the Paramount Chief of Sefwi Anhwiaso Traditional Area, ganered 47 votes in total to become the new President of the house. It was a topsy turvy as the Vice President of the House, Daasebre Kwebu Ewusi VII, Abeadzehen of the Central Region also failed his second term bid. He lost painfully to the Paramount Chief of Lawra Traditional Area, Naa Puowele Karbo III who polled 44 votes. 

In his acceptance speech, the new president, Ogyeahohuo Yaw Gyebi promised giving his all for the betterment of the nation. He also asked for unity amongst the members. 

Before the elections, Ogyeahohuo Yaw Gyebi II has chaired the Governance and Development Committee of the National House of Chiefs.


Visited 4 times, 1 visit(s) today
About Nutefe Worla 128 Articles
Nutefe Worla is a professional teacher, a blogger and a profiler at, an online news portal. He is also a passionate reader and a natural writer. He believes strongly that for one to succeed in life, there is the need to hold unto one’s resolve in high esteem.