Reading Time: < 1 minute

The Press Secretary to the Education Minister, Mr Rodney Nkrumah-Boateng, in a post on Facebook has confirmed the inauguration of a committee by his boss to come out with modalities for re-opening of schools across the country. 

Read Full Statement. 

The Minister of Education, Dr. Matthew Opoku Prempeh, has inaugurated a 10-member committee in Accra to deliberate and advise on modalities for the re-opening of schools in the pre-tertiary subsector for the approval of the President. 

This follows the address to the nation by President Akufo-Addo on Sunday 16th August 2020, which included government’s intentions to consider the reopening of schools following the shutdown in March 2020 due to the Covid-19 pandemic breakout. 

The committee is chaired by Prof. Dominic Fobih, a former Minister of Education and currently the chairman of the GETFund Board of Trustees. The other members are;

1. Mr. Michael Nsowah  Chair, GES Council

2. Prof. Kwasi Opoku Amankwa    Director-General, GES

3. Mr. Anthony Boateng       Deputy Director(M & S), GES

4. Dr. Kwabena Tandoh      Deputy Director-General 

                                                            (Q & A), GES

5. Mrs. Kate Appiah-Pinkrah Director, Pre-Tertiary, MoE

6. Mr. Madeez Adamu Issah Rep, UNICEF

7. Mr. I. K Mensah      Rep, Private Schools

8. Nana Kwasi Amoako P.T.A Chair, Accra Girls SHS

9. Mrs. Patty Assan Director, Schools and    


The committee is expected to report to the Minister on Monday 21st September 2020 with its recommendations.


Visited 4 times, 1 visit(s) today
About Nutefe Worla 128 Articles
Nutefe Worla is a professional teacher, a blogger and a profiler at, an online news portal. He is also a passionate reader and a natural writer. He believes strongly that for one to succeed in life, there is the need to hold unto one’s resolve in high esteem.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.